Nechalacho Rare Earth Demonstration Project

Ore Sorter on site at the Nechalacho Rare Earth Demonstration Project

Project Cheetah Resources Ltd.’s Nechalacho Rare Earth Demonstration Project, located 100 kilometres southeast of Yellowknife, is entering its production phase. Cheetah is the first Canadian producer of rare earth element oxides, which are used in technologies that are helping move Canada to a low carbon economy, such as the manufacturing of electric vehicles, renewable energy production and electronics.

CanNor’s support for this project helped fund the purchase of an optical sensor-based sorting machine and the associated engineering and set-up costs. This innovative technology for ore sorting is being used on site to produce a rare earth element concentrate prior to shipping it for further processing. This process significantly reduces the amount of water and diesel used, and eliminates the use of chemicals and tailings from the mining process.

Cheetah anticipates that this demonstration project will indicate the economic, social and environmental feasibility of extracting rare earth element ores and producing a concentrate, which may lead to a scaled-up mine in the NWT. The company, whose Canadian head office is in Yellowknife, hopes to generate new exports originating in the NWT and out to the circumpolar world and Europe.

Cheetah is working with the Det’on Cho Nahanni Construction Corporation, owned by the Yellowknives Dene First Nation (YKDFN), which is managing and operating on-site extraction activities. The YKDFN are one of the first Indigenous groups in Canada to be responsible for mineral extraction on their traditional territory.

CanNor’s investment in this project supports the sustainable mining of critical minerals, and helps Cheetah and the Det'on Cho Corporation seize on an important opportunity to work together on developing a local resource project in NWT. This project is helping stimulate the economy and creating employment opportunities for Northerners and Indigenous peoples. The Nechalacho Rare Earth demonstration project is expected to create 22 jobs, expand 5 jobs and maintain 2 jobs.

Date modified:

Projet de démonstration des terres rares de Nechalacho

Trieur de minerai sur le site de démonstration des terres rares de Nechalacho

Le projet de démonstration des terres rares de Nechalacho de la Cheetah Resources Ltd entre dans sa phase de production. La mine Nechalacho est située environ 100 kilomètres au sud-est de Yellowknife. La Cheetah Resources Ltd est le tout premier producteur canadien d’oxydes d’éléments de terres rares, lesquels sont indispensables aux nouvelles technologies qui permettront au Canada de passer à une économie à faibles émissions de carbone. Les terres rares sont notamment utilisées dans la fabrication de véhicules électriques, la production d’énergie renouvelable et l’électronique.

L’appui de CanNor à ce projet a permis de financer l’achat d’un trieur doté de capteurs optiques, ainsi que les coûts d’ingénierie et de mise en place connexes. Cette technologie de triage du minerai innovatrice est utilisée sur place pour produire un concentré d’éléments de terres rares avant de l’expédier pour un traitement ultérieur. Ce processus permet de réduire considérablement la quantité d’eau et de diesel utilisée, et d’éliminer l’utilisation de produits chimiques et les résidus du processus d’extraction.

Cheetah espère que ce projet de démonstration démontrera la faisabilité économique, sociale et environnementale de l’extraction de minerais de terres rares et de la production d’un concentré, ce qui pourrait entraîner l’ouverture d’une mine à grande échelle dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. L’entreprise, dont le siège social canadien se trouve à Yellowknife, espère ainsi générer de nouvelles exportations à partir des T.N.-O. vers le monde circumpolaire et l’Europe.

Cheetah travaille avec la Det'on Cho Nahanni Construction Corporation, propriété de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives, qui gère et assure les activités d’extraction sur le site. La Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives est le tout premier groupe autochtone au Canada à être responsable de l’extraction de minerai sur ses terres traditionnelles.

L’investissement de CanNor dans ce projet soutient l’exploitation durable des minéraux essentiels et aide Cheetah et la Det'on Cho Corporation à saisir une occasion importante de collaborer au développement d’un projet de ressources locales dans les T.N.-O. Ce projet contribue à stimuler l’économie et à créer des emplois pour les habitants du Nord et les peuples autochtones. On s’attend à ce que le projet de démonstration crée 22 emplois, en développe 5 et en maintienne 2 autres.

Date de modification :