Pinnguaq Association TE(a)CH program - Nunavut

Emily Canfield teaching coding concepts at the Iqaluit Makerspace

The Pinnguaq Association, located in Iqaluit, Nunavut, has had remarkable success in developing STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics) skills through innovative technology, art and play. Founded in Pangnirtung, Nunavut, in 2012, the Pinnguaq Association supports participants and takes them from their first coding lesson to opportunities in employment and production of their own original ideas.

CanNor supported Pinnguaq's "Making Technology Opportunities Through Te(a)ch" between 2019-21, allowing the organization to bring their programs to Nunavut communities. In 2019-2020 and prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, they visited eight communities around Nunavut to deliver STEAM programming opportunities. Once the pandemic began, CANNOR funding allowed Pinnguaq to pivot to online delivery and support through the development of modules and learning kits. These kits and lessons were used in all 25 Nunavut communities as well as across Nunavik, NWT, and Yukon.

Pinnguaq delivered 1,645 unique learning experiences impacting a total of 712 individual Nunavummiut youth and 265 individual adults. Of their participants, 91% are Inuit, and 55% are female. Courses for youth focused on building digital literacy and skills for the future of work, while adult courses focused on building skills around existing technology and improving technology use in the workplace.

CanNor funding also supported the purchase of supplies for Makerspaces, the development of an evaluation plan, and the translation of existing learning modules into the Inuktitut language. As a result of CanNor funding, the Pinnguaq Association created and maintained 13 full time jobs in Nunavut during the project.

Date modified:

Programme TE(a)CH de l'Association Pinnguaq - Nunavut

Emily Canfield enseigne les principes du codage au laboratoire ouvert d'Iqaluit

L'Association Pinnguaq, située à Iqaluit, au Nunavut, a connu un succès remarquable dans le développement des compétences STIAM (sciences, technologies, ingénierie, arts et mathématiques) au moyen de technologies innovantes, de l'art et du jeu. Fondée en 2012 à Pangnirtung, au Nunavut, l'Association Pinnguaq guide les participants depuis leur première leçon de codage jusqu'aux possibilités d'emploi et à la réalisation de leurs propres idées originales.

De 2019 à 2021, CanNor a appuyé l'initiative Making Technology Opportunities Through Te(a)ch de l'Association Pinnguaq, permettant à l'organisation d'offrir ses programmes aux collectivités du Nunavut. En 2019-2020, avant la pandémie de COVID-19, l'Association Pinnguaq a visité huit communautés du Nunavut pour présenter des programmes STIAM. Lorsque la pandémie a commencé, le financement de CanNor a permis à l'Association Pinnguaq de se tourner vers la prestation et le soutien en ligne en développant des modules et des trousses d'apprentissage. Ces trousses et ces formations ont été utilisées dans les 25 communautés du Nunavut ainsi qu'au Nunavik, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon.

L'Association Pinnguaq a présenté 1 645 séances d'apprentissage uniques qui ont eu un écho sur 712 jeunes Nunavummiut et 265 adultes. Parmi les participants, 91 % sont Inuits et 55 % sont des femmes. Les cours destinés aux jeunes étaient axés sur l'acquisition d'une culture numérique et de compétences pour l'avenir du travail, tandis que les cours offerts aux adultes visaient à renforcer les compétences relatives aux technologies existantes et à améliorer l'utilisation des technologies au travail.

Le financement de CanNor a également permis l'achat de fournitures pour les laboratoires ouverts, la mise au point d'un plan d'évaluation et la traduction en inuktitut des modules d'apprentissage. Grâce au financement de CanNor, l'Association Pinnguaq a créé et conservé 13 emplois à temps plein au Nunavut pendant le projet.

Date de modification :