Archived - Success Story: Marketing Campaign Increases Visits to the Land of the Midnight Sun

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Project Location: Whitehorse, Yukon
Program: Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development
Sector: Tourism Sector

The Government of Yukon's Tourism Branch (Tourism Yukon), with the support of CanNor funding, launched Yukon Now in 2014. Yukon Now is a tourism marketing campaign aimed at increasing both awareness of Yukon as a tourist destination, and international and domestic tourism to Yukon. An economic driver in the North, tourism contributes $250 million to the territorial economy each year with approximately 25% of Yukon residents employed in the industry.

Northern Canada's unique culture, geography, and unparalleled scenery make it a spectacular tourist destination. In a pre-campaign awareness research study, 45% of Canadians surveyed said they had a positive impression of Yukon, but 72% were not familiar with Yukon travel activities and experiences. Yukon Now focused on television commercials, establishing agreements with international tour operators in Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg, cultivating strategic international partnerships in Japan and China, and launching a combination of online user-generated content and a digital storytelling project. Both CanNor and the Government of Yukon contributed $1.8 million to the project over two years, increasing the Tourism Yukon's marketing budget by 30%.

When the first domestic commercial aired in February 2015, traffic to the Travel Yukon website almost doubled that same month, with over 22,000 visits. The Tourism Association of Yukon also reported an increase in last-minute domestic bookings.  Between October 2014 and May 2015, visitor border crossings increased by 12% compared to the previous year. In addition to the increase to the tourism industry, 39 Yukon residents and a local company – Outside the Cube – were hired to develop the TV commercials. In September 2015, Tourism Yukon and Outside the Cube received the 2015 Explore Canada Award of Excellence for Most Innovative PR Campaign for their use of online collaboration and digital storytelling.

Date modified:

Archivée - Histoire de réussite : Une campagne de marketing augmente les visites au pays du soleil de minuit

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Emplacement du projet : Whitehorse (Yukon)
Programme : Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord
Secteur : Tourisme

La Direction générale du tourisme du gouvernement du Yukon (Tourisme Yukon), avec le soutien financier de CanNor, a lancé Yukon Now en 2014. Yukon Now est une campagne de marketing axée sur le tourisme visant à accroître la sensibilisation relative au Yukon comme destination touristique et le tourisme international et national au Yukon. Moteur économique dans le Nord, le tourisme représente une contribution annuelle de 250 millions de dollars à l'économie territoriale, et environ 25 % des résidants du Yukon travaillent dans ce secteur.

La culture, la géographie et les paysages uniques du Nord canadien font de cette région une destination touristique spectaculaire. Dans une étude de recherche sur la sensibilisation préalable à la campagne, 45 % des Canadiens sondés affirmaient avoir une impression positive du Yukon, mais 72 % n'étaient pas au courant des activités et expériences de voyage au Yukon. Yukon Now a mis l'accent sur des publicités à la télévision, l'établissement d'ententes avec des voyagistes internationaux en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas et au Luxembourg, l'entretien de partenariats internationaux stratégiques au Japon et en Chine, et le lancement de contenus en ligne générés par les utilisateurs en combinaison avec un projet de narration numérique. CanNor et le gouvernement du Yukon investissent 1,8 million de dollars dans le projet sur deux ans, ce qui augmente le budget de marketing de Tourisme Yukon de 30 %.

Après la diffusion de la première publicité au pays, en février 2015, le nombre de consultations du site Web de Tourisme Yukon a presque doublé le même mois, avec plus de 22 000 visites. La Tourism Industry Association of the Yukon a également rapporté une augmentation des réservations nationales de dernière minute. D'octobre 2014 à mai 2015, les passages à la frontière par les visiteurs ont augmenté de 12 %, comparativement à l'année précédente. En plus de l'épanouissement de l'industrie touristique, 39 résidants du Yukon et une entreprise locale – Outside the Cube – ont été engagés pour élaborer les publicités télévisuelles. En septembre 2015, Tourisme Yukon et Outside the Cube ont reçu le Prix d'excellence Exploration Canada 2015 pour la campagne de relations publiques la plus créative, en raison de leur utilisation de la collaboration en ligne et de la narration numérique.

Date de modification :