Archived - Success Story: Preparing Inuvialuit Businesses and Communities for Economic Diversification Opportunities

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Project Location: Inuvik, Northwest Territories
Program: Northern Aboriginal Economic Opportunities Program
Sectors: Oil and Gas; Tourism; Agriculture; Small Business; Traditional Economy

In 2014-15, the Inuvialuit Community Economic Development Organization (ICEDO) launched a series of Regional Opportunity Readiness Initiatives over five years to increase economic opportunities for Inuvialuit businesses and communities across multiple sectors.  This series of initiatives will help position business and communities in the region to benefit from the industrial and economic diversification opportunities expected to arise through and beyond the construction of the highway between Inuvik and Tuktoyaktuk, NWT.

One of these initiatives was a pilot program to focus on value-added country food processing methods in response to the growing demand for nutritious and affordable country foods in Inuvialuit communities. ICEDO, in partnership, with Aurora College, developed and executed a ten-day training course, titled Country Food Processing Methods, from February 22 to March 4, 2016 in Inuvik, Northwest Territories. The course taught participants the knowledge and skills required to process traditional foods, including char, muskox, muktuk, and reindeer. Business and community members from Tuktoyaktuk, Aklavik, and Inuvik received in-class and hands-on instruction that covered the essentials of primary value-added processing techniques, regulatory requirements, and production.

To date, CanNor has invested $865,000 in ICEDO's Regional Opportunity Readiness Initiatives, which included funding for the Country Food Processing Methods course and the processing equipment used during the course. It is expected that this innovative and unique training in country food processing will foster the growth of this commercial business in nearby communities.

Date modified:

Archivée - Histoire de réussite : Préparer les entreprises et les collectivités inuvialuites aux possibilités de diversification économique

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Emplacement du projet : Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)
Programme : Programme d’opportunités économiques pour les Autochtones du Nord
Secteurs : Pétrole et gaz; tourisme; agriculture; petites entreprises; économie traditionnelle

En 2014-2015, l'Organisme de développement économique communautaire des Inuvialuit (ICEDO) lançait une série d'initiatives régionales de préparation aux possibilités économiques sur une période de cinq ans afin d'accroître les occasions économiques pour les entreprises et les collectivités inuvialuites dans différents secteurs. Cette série d'initiatives aidera les entreprises et les collectivités de la région à profiter des possibilités de diversification industrielle et économique qui sont attendues pendant et après la construction de la route entre Inuvik et Tuktoyaktuk, dans les T.N.-O.

Une de ces initiatives était un programme pilote portant sur les méthodes de transformation des aliments traditionnels à valeur ajoutée, en réponse à la demande croissante en matière d'aliments traditionnels nutritifs et abordables dans les collectivités inuvialuites. ICEDO, en partenariat avec le Collège Aurora, a élaboré et réalisé un cours de formation de dix jours intitulé Country Food Processing Methods, qui s'est tenu du 22 février au 4 mars 2016 à Inuvik, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le cours enseignait aux participants les connaissances et les compétences requises pour transformer les aliments traditionnels tels que l'omble, le bœuf musqué, le muktuk et le renne. Les entreprises et les membres des collectivités de Tuktoyaktuk, Aklavik et Inuvik ont bénéficié d'une formation en classe et d'exercices pratiques portant sur les éléments essentiels des techniques de transformation à valeur ajoutée, des exigences réglementaires et de la production.

À ce jour, CanNor a investi 865 000 $ dans les initiatives régionales de préparation aux possibilités économiques d'ICEDO, ce qui inclut le financement d'un cours sur les méthodes de traitement des aliments traditionnels et l'équipement de transformation utilisé pendant le cours. On s'attend à ce que cette formation unique et innovatrice en transformation des aliments traditionnels favorise la croissance de ce secteur commercial dans les collectivités environnantes.

Date de modification :