Archived - Success Story: Creating Mobile Arctic Laboratories

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Project Location: Cambridge Bay, Nunavut
Program: Strategic Investments in Northern Economic Development
Sector: Innovation and Clean Technology

The Arctic Research Foundation, a private not-for-profit organization, accessed $1.75 million in CanNor funding to develop six mobile laboratories using refurbished sea containers in Cambridge Bay and Gjoa Haven, Nunavut. These mobile labs allow scientists to conduct research directly in the Arctic in areas such as geoscience, archeology, fisheries, and marine science. In addition to being able to easily move the labs from location to location, the labs are equipped with solar and wind energy generation capabilities which makes them totally self-sufficient in the remote Arctic environment.

The Arctic Research Foundation's mobile labs are supporting research and economic development in the North, including playing a significant role in the 2014 discovery of the HMS Erebus. These innovative labs are providing local communities with an opportunity to share Inuit knowledge with scientists while they conduct their research. The flexibility offered by the self-sufficient and mobile labs allows research to be done on-site and reduces the amount of time between the collection of samples and their analysis. The Arctic Research Foundation is also training Inuit from the Kitikmeot region of Nunavut in research techniques in the fisheries, mining, and tourism sectors.

The research taking place in these Arctic labs is also having economic benefits: from identifying new deposits of soapstone for local carvers, to increasing the understanding of the marine ecosystem, to supporting the sustainable development of the local fishing industry. These mobile laboratories are already being used as an example, with Environment Canada looking to develop similar infrastructure for weather forecasting in the North.

Date modified:

Archivée - Histoire de réussite : Construction de laboratoires mobiles en Arctique

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Emplacement du projet : Cambridge Bay (Nunavut)
Programme : Investissements stratégiques dans le développement économique du Nord (ISDEN)
Secteur : Innovation et technologies propres

L'Arctic Research Foundation, organisme sans but lucratif privé, a reçu une subvention de 1,75 million de dollars de CanNor pour construire, à partir de conteneurs maritimes remis à neuf, six laboratoires mobiles à Cambridge Bay et à Gjoa Haven, au Nunavut. Ces laboratoires mobiles permettent aux scientifiques de faire de la recherche directement en Arctique dans les domaines des sciences de la Terre, de l'archéologie, de la pêche et de l'océanographie. En plus d'être facilement transportables, ces installations sont dotées des systèmes de production d'énergie solaire et éolienne qui les rendent entièrement autonomes dans les régions arctiques isolées.

Les laboratoires mobiles de l'Arctic Research Foundation contribuent à la recherche et au développement économique du Nord. Ils ont notamment joué un rôle important dans la découverte du HMS Erebus en 2014. Ces installations novatrices permettent aussi aux collectivités locales de partager leur savoir inuit avec les scientifiques pendant les travaux. Grâce à la souplesse que procurent ces laboratoires mobiles autonomes, la recherche peut être effectuée sur place, ce qui réduit le temps entre le prélèvement et l'analyse des échantillons. L'Arctic Research Foundation montre aussi aux Inuit de la région de Kitikmeot comment appliquer des techniques de recherche dans les secteurs de la pêche, de l'exploitation minière et du tourisme.

Les travaux menés dans les laboratoires arctiques ont aussi des retombées économiques : découverte de nouveaux gisements de stéatique pour les artisans locaux, meilleure compréhension de l'écosystème marin, développement durable de l'industrie de la pêche dans la région, etc. Ces laboratoires mobiles servent déjà de modèles à Environnement Canada, qui veut aménager des installations semblables dans le Nord pour ses prévisions météorologiques.

Date de modification :