Strategic Partnerships Initiative

The Strategic Partnerships Initiative (SPI), led by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, supports Aboriginal participation in the economy, with a particular focus on the forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture sectors. A key component of the new Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development, SPI enables more than a dozen partnering federal departments and agencies, including CanNor, to provide a co-ordinated federal response to existing and emerging Aboriginal economic development opportunities.

SPI builds partnerships among federal departments, Aboriginal communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Aboriginal Canadians take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key sectors of the economy. The initiative's funding is intended to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

At CanNor, the Strategic Partnerships Initiative funding will enable public and/or private Aboriginal organizations to negotiate arrangements which increase Aboriginal participation in important areas within the territorial economies such as activity in the mining and energy sectors.

For more information on the Strategic Partnership Initiative, please visit Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

Date modified:

Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques

L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS), dirigée par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, appuie la participation des Autochtones à l'économie en général et de façon particulière à la foresterie, à la pêche, à l'exploitation minière, à l'énergie et à l'agriculture. Volet important du nouveau Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, l'IPS permet à plus d'une douzaine de ministères et d'organismes fédéraux partenaires, notamment CanNor, d'offrir une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités de développement économique nouvelles et existantes.

L'IPS permet aux ministères fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les Canadiens autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes qui ne pourraient être comblées par les programmes existants.

Chez CanNor, le financement de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques permettra aux organisations autochtones publiques et privées de négocier des ententes qui accroissent la participation des Autochtones aux secteurs clés des économies territoriales, comme les secteurs miniers et de l'énergie.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, visitez le site d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Date de modification :