Inuit Learning and Development Program (ILDP): Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑑᖓᔪᖅ ᑎᑎᕋᒃᓯᒪᓂᖓ

On this page

General information

Q.1) What is the Inuit Learning and Development Program?

The Inuit Learning and Development Program (ILDP) is a pre-employment and job training initiative aimed at helping Nunavut Inuit develop skills for potential jobs in the federal public service in Nunavut. This program supports the Government of Canada's efforts to build and maintain a representative public service in Nunavut, including meeting its obligations under the Nunavut Agreement.

Q.2) When does the next group start?

The next round of applications for the program will be accepted in 2021.

Q.3) How long does the program last?

The ILDP is a 16 month program consisting of four paid work placements lasting four months each.

Q.4) Where does the ILDP take place?

The majority of work placements are based in Iqaluit. However, there will be a few rotations based in Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, which would require participants to move between Iqaluit and Cambridge Bay during the program.

Relocation support will be available for participants applying outside of work placement communities. During the training program, participants will also receive (in addition to their salary) housing, vacation leave, vacation travel assistance (for themselves and eligible dependents), and support for training outside of the participant's work placement community.

Q.5) What kind of training is offered?

Participants will receive on-the-job training as well as coaching and mentoring. They will also participate in structured classroom learning and online training. Participants will also be provided with informal learning opportunities (i.e. guest speakers, learning from Inuit elders). Both formal and informal training will focus on skills development for government employment as well as Inuit culture and history. Some examples of specific training topics include orientation to Government of Canada, written and oral communication and briefing skills, interview and job search skills, team building, computer skills, Inuktitut language skills, resilience and workplace wellbeing, Inuit societal values and history, managing pressure and stress, and problem solving. Any travel required for training will be covered by the program.

Q.6) What kind of work placements can be expected?

Placements may include entry level positions such as administrative assistants, clerks or finance officers, or environmental technicians. For those individuals selected to participate in the 'science stream', work placements will be focused on gaining exposure to a variety of federal responsibilities in areas such as land and resource management, environmental protection, monitoring and research, as well as the coordination of environmental programs and policies.

Q.7) What are the pay and benefits for ILDP participants?

Participants are paid as term employees, which is approximately $43,078 per year plus applicable isolated post allowances (or 'northern allowances'). Depending on whether participants have dependents, isolated post allowances range from an additional $18,000/year to $32,000/year. Participants will also be eligible for vacation travel assistance (VTA) payments at 3 different points during the 16-month program, for themselves and for each eligible dependent. Relocation assistance is available to those applying from outside of placement locations. Applicants may wish to review the Relocation Directive.

Q.8) Is housing provided?

Subsidized housing is available to participants and eligible dependents. While accommodations are partially subsidized, participants will be required to pay rent which will be deducted from their regular pay. For those participants who will take part in one or more 4-month work placements in Cambridge Bay, subsidized housing will be available, but may involve shared accommodations with other participants or federal employees.

Applying for the Inuit Learning and Development Program (ILDP)

Q.1) Who is eligible to participate?

This opportunity is open to Inuit enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement. If you have a high school diploma or equivalent, and/or a college diploma or university education, they will be considered an asset. Nunavut Inuit residing in Nunavut or in any other Canadian location are encouraged to apply.

Q.2) What if I don't have a high school diploma?

Applicants without a high school diploma may be considered for the ILDP if they have some equivalent volunteer and work experience.

Q.3) Can I get help filling out an application form?

Yes, contact Pilimmaksaivik for assistance filling out an application form.

Q.4) Where do I send my completed application form?

Completed application forms can be sent to one of the following:

  • Email: Pilimmaksaivik@Canada.ca
  • Mail: Pilimmaksaivik Office, PO Box 610, Iqaluit NU, X0A 0H0
  • Drop-off: Pilimmaksaivik Office 3rd floor building 1106 Iqaluit, NU
  • Fax: 867-975-3740

Once you submit your application form, Pilimmaksaivik will let you know if anything else is required.

Q.5) What criteria will be used to select the participants in the program?

We are looking for participants who are:

  • Able to communicate both in writing and orally in English (the ability to communicate in Inuktitut is an asset)
  • Organized and adaptable
  • Dedicated and enthusiastic towards personal learning and development
  • Active listeners with good reading skills
  • Positive, determined, and show initiative
  • Open and willing to work with a learning partner such as a mentor and a coach
  • Comfortable using technology such as computer and office equipment
  • Applicants will be expected to participate in on-the-job learning and training during regular work hours, Monday through Friday
  • Applicants should be available to work for the duration of the Program

Please note: Applicants must be able to obtain a Reliability Security clearance. Having a criminal record does not automatically disqualify you from eligibility into the program. Potential participants will be interviewed in person or by telephone.

Q.6) When will participants be notified that they have been selected?

Participants are generally notified six weeks after the application closing date.

Q.7) Do participants select their Government of Canada placements?

The program coordinators will attempt to match the skills and aspirations of participants to positions available in host organizations to maximize the benefits for both the participants and the host employers.

Q.8) Will participants be paid for travel costs for interviews?

Travel costs for applicant interviews will not be covered if outside of Iqaluit. Interviews may be done by telephone for applicants outside Iqaluit to minimize costs.

What to expect

Q.1) What are the participants' responsibilities during the program?

Participants are expected to attend all learning events organized as part of the program and are expected to attend their work placement regularly and punctually according to the hours of work set out for their position. They will be expected to undertake assignments that require reading, writing and computer skills. They will also be expected to work with the coach and mentor assigned to them.

Q.2) What do the formal learning sessions involve?

Formal learning will include IT training, values and ethics, client service skills, and communications, as well as sessions on the Nunavut Agreement and the roles of the Government of Canada.

For those selected to participate in the 'science stream', land-based training may be offered such as environmental sampling and monitoring, wilderness first aid etc.

Q.3) Will there be any mentors or coaches to assist participants?

Coaches will support participants in their individual work placements and will change with each rotation by providing training in job skills specific to each position. Mentors will be assigned to each participant for the duration of the program. Mentors will be other public servants who can give advice about setting goals, identifying resources, and finding opportunities for further educational and professional development.

Q.4) What are the program benefits?

Inuit enrolled under the Nunavut Agreement who participate in the ILDP will:

  • Gain first-hand experience working within a variety of Government of Canada departments and agencies in Nunavut.
  • Become more aware of career opportunities in the public service.
  • Access training and education focused on skill development needed for federal employment.
  • Receive guidance from a mentor throughout the duration of the Program as well as on-the-job coaching.
  • Have the opportunity to be placed into an inventory for consideration for term or permanent jobs within the Government of Canada.
Date modified:

Programme sur l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement des Inuits (PAPI) : Foire aux questions (FAQ)

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑑᖓᔪᖅ ᑎᑎᕋᒃᓯᒪᓂᖓ

Sur cette page

Renseignements généraux

Q.1) Qu’est-ce que le Programme sur l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement des Inuits?

Le Programme d’apprentissage et de perfectionnement des Inuits (PAPI) constitue une initiative de formation et de préparation à l’emploi qui vise à aider les Inuits du Nunavut à perfectionner leurs compétences en vue d’occuper des emplois dans la fonction publique fédérale au Nunavut. Ce programme soutient les efforts déployés par le gouvernement du Canada pour bâtir et maintenir une fonction publique représentative au Nunavut, y compris le respect de ses obligations en vertu de l’Accord sur le Nunavut.

Q.2) Quand le prochain groupe commencera-t-il?

Le prochain cycle de demandes au titre du Programme aura lieu en 2021.

Q.3) Quelle est la durée du Programme?

Le PAPI est un programme de 16 mois composé de quatre affectations professionnelles rémunérées d’une durée de quatre mois chacune.

Q.4) Où se déroule le PAPI?

La majorité des affectations professionnelles se déroulent à Iqaluit. Toutefois, il y aura quelques rotations à Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut, qui obligeront les participants à se déplacer entre Iqaluit et Cambridge Bay pendant le Programme.

Des mesures de soutien à la réinstallation seront offertes aux participants ne vivant pas dans les collectivités où ont lieu les affectations professionnelles. Pendant le programme de formation, les participants auront également droit (en plus de leur salaire) à un hébergement, à un congé annuel, à une aide au titre des déplacements pour congé annuel (pour eux-mêmes et pour toute personne à charge admissible) et à des mesures de soutien pour tout déplacement nécessaire à la formation à l’extérieur de la collectivité dans laquelle se déroule l'affectation des participants.

Q.5) Quel type de formation est offert?

Les participants recevront une formation en milieu de travail ainsi que du mentorat et de l’encadrement. Ils participeront aussi à des cours structurés en classe et recevront de la formation en ligne. Les participants auront également accès à des possibilités d’apprentissage informelles (c.-à-d. conférenciers et apprentissage auprès des aînés inuits). La formation officielle et informelle mettra l’accent sur le perfectionnement des compétences nécessaires pour occuper un poste au sein du gouvernement ainsi que sur la culture et l’histoire inuites. Voici quelques exemples de sujets de formation précis : orientation au gouvernement du Canada; compétences en communication écrite et orale et en breffage; techniques d’entrevue et de recherche d’emploi; travail d’équipe; compétences informatiques; compétences linguistiques en inuktitut; résilience et bien-être au travail; valeurs sociales et histoire inuites; gestion de la pression et du stress; résolution de problèmes. Tous les déplacements nécessaires à la formation seront couverts par le Programme.

Q.6) À quels types d’affectations professionnelles peut-on s’attendre?

Il pourrait s’agir de postes de premier échelon, comme des postes d’adjoints administratifs, de commis, d’agents des finances ou de techniciens en environnement. Pour les personnes choisies pour participer au « volet scientifique », l’affectation sera axée sur l’exposition à différentes responsabilités fédérales dans des domaines tels que la gestion des terres et des ressources, la protection, la surveillance et la recherche environnementales ainsi que la coordination des politiques et des programmes environnementaux.

Q.7) Quels sont les avantages sociaux et la rémunération pour les participants au PAPI?

Les participants sont rémunérés à titre d’employés nommés pour une période déterminée et recevront donc un salaire annuel d’environ 43 078 $, auquel s’ajoutent les indemnités de poste isolé applicables (ou « indemnités de vie dans le Nord »). Si les participants ont des personnes à charge, ces indemnités varient de 18 000 $ à 32 000 $ supplémentaires par année. Les participants seront également admissibles à une aide aux déplacements pour congé annuel à trois moments différents au cours du programme de 16 mois, pour eux-mêmes et pour chaque personne à charge admissible. Une aide à la réinstallation est offerte à ceux et à celles qui vivent en dehors des collectivités où ont lieu les affectations professionnelles. Pour en savoir davantage sur ce sujet, les candidats peuvent consulter la Directive sur la réinstallation.

Q.8) L’hébergement est-il fourni?

Les participants et leurs personnes à charge admissibles auront accès à un hébergement subventionné. Bien que le logement soit partiellement subventionné, les participants devront payer un loyer qui sera déduit de leur salaire normal. Pour les participants qui participeront à une ou à plusieurs affectations de quatre mois à Cambridge Bay, des logements subventionnés seront disponibles, mais pourraient devoir être partagés avec d’autres participants ou des employés fédéraux.

Présenter une demande dans le cadre du Programme sur l’apprentissage et le perfectionnement des Inuits (PAPI)

Q.1) Qui est admissible?

Cette occasion est offerte aux Inuits inscrits en vertu de l’Accord sur le Nunavut. Le fait d’être titulaire d’un diplôme d’études secondaires ou l’équivalent, d’un diplôme d’études collégiales ou d’un diplôme d’études universitaires sera considéré comme un atout. Les Inuits du Nunavut résidant au Nunavut ou dans toute autre région du Canada sont encouragés à présenter une demande.

Q.2) Qu’arrive-t-il si je n’ai pas de diplôme d’études secondaires?

Les demandeurs qui ne détiennent pas de diplôme d’études secondaires pourront être pris en considération pour le PAPI s’ils possèdent de l’expérience équivalente en tant que bénévoles ou travailleurs.

Q.3) Puis-je obtenir de l’aide pour remplir le formulaire de demande?

Oui. Communiquez avec Pilimmaksaivik pour obtenir de l’aide pour remplir un formulaire de demande.

Q.4) Où dois-je envoyer mon formulaire de demande dûment rempli?

Les formulaires de demande remplis peuvent être envoyés à l’adresse suivante :

  • Adresse courriel : Pilimmaksaivik@Canada.ca;
  • Adresse postale : Bureau de Pilimmaksaivik, C.P. 610, Iqaluit (Nunavut) X0A 0H0;
  • Dépôt en personne : Bureau de Pilimmaksaivik, édifice 1106, 3e étage, Iqaluit (Nunavut)
  • Télécopieur : 867-975-3740

Lorsque vous aurez soumis votre formulaire de demande, Pilimmaksaivik communiquera avec vous pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, au besoin.

Q.5) Quels seront les critères de sélection des participants au Programme?

Nous cherchons des participants qui :

  • ont la capacité de communiquer à l’écrit et à l’oral en anglais (la capacité de communiquer en inuktitut est un atout);
  • ont une bonne capacité d’organisation et d’adaptation;
  • sont dévoués et enthousiastes à l’idée d’apprendre et de se perfectionner;
  • pratiquent l’écoute active et possèdent de bonnes compétences en lecture;
  • ont une attitude positive, sont déterminés et font preuve d’initiative;
  • ont l’esprit ouvert et acceptent de travailler avec un compagnon d’apprentissage, comme un mentor ou un formateur;
  • se sentent à l’aise avec la technologie, comme les ordinateurs et le matériel de bureau;
  • Les participants doivent prendre part aux séances d’apprentissage et à la formation en milieu de travail pendant les heures normales de travail, du lundi au vendredi;
  • Les candidats doivent pouvoir travailler pendant toute la durée du Programme.

Remarque : Les candidats doivent obtenir une cote de fiabilité. Le fait d’avoir un casier judiciaire ne signifie pas que vous serez automatiquement exclu du Programme. Les candidats seront interviewés en personne ou par téléphone.

Q.6) Quand les participants seront-ils informés qu’ils ont été choisis?

Les participants sont généralement avisés dans les six semaines suivant la date de clôture du processus de candidature.

Q.7) Les participants peuvent-ils choisir leurs affectations au sein du gouvernement du Canada?

Les coordonnateurs du Programme tenteront d’associer les compétences et les aspirations des participants avec les postes disponibles dans les organisations hôtes afin d’optimiser les avantages pour les participants et les employeurs.

Q.8) Les frais de déplacement des participants pour se rendre aux entrevues seront-ils remboursés?

Les frais de déplacement pour les entrevues des candidats qui vivent à l’extérieur d’Iqaluit ne seront pas couverts. Les entrevues peuvent être réalisées par téléphone pour les demandeurs de l’extérieur d’Iqaluit afin de réduire les coûts.

À quoi s’attendre

Q.1) Quelles sont les responsabilités des participants pendant le Programme?

Les participants doivent assister à toutes les séances d’apprentissage organisées dans le cadre du Programme. Ils doivent aussi se présenter assidûment et ponctuellement au travail conformément à l’horaire de travail de leur poste. Ils devront réaliser des travaux qui exigent des compétences en lecture, en écriture et en informatique. Ils devront aussi collaborer avec leur formateur et leur mentor.

Q.2) Que comprennent les séances d’apprentissage officiel?

L’apprentissage officiel comprendra notamment des cours en technologie de l’information, en valeurs et éthique, en compétences liées au service à la clientèle et à la communication, de même que des séances sur l’Accord sur le Nunavut et les rôles du gouvernement du Canada.

De la formation sur place pourrait être offerte aux personnes choisies pour participer à la formation sur le terrain du « volet scientifique », comme des formations sur l’échantillonnage et la surveillance de l’environnement ou les premiers soins en milieu sauvage.

Q.3) Y aura-t-il des mentors et des formateur qui aideront les participants?

Des formateurs soutiendront les participants dans leur affectation professionnelle individuelle (ils changeront à chaque rotation de travail) en leur offrant une formation sur les compétences professionnelles propres à chaque poste. Des mentors seront affectés à chaque participant pour la durée du Programme. Les mentors seront d’autres fonctionnaires qui peuvent donner des conseils pour établir des objectifs, cerner des ressources et trouver des occasions de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel supplémentaires.

Q.4) Quels sont les avantages du Programme?

Les Inuits inscrits en vertu de l’Accord sur le Nunavut qui participeront au PAPI :

  • vivront une expérience de travail pratique auprès de divers ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada au Nunavut;
  • en apprendront davantage sur les possibilités de carrière au sein de la fonction publique;
  • auront accès à de la formation et à des cours qui mettront l’accent sur le perfectionnement des compétences requises pour occuper un poste au sein du gouvernement fédéral;
  • recevront des conseils d’un mentor et un encadrement en milieu de travail tout au long du Programme;
  • seront inscrits dans un bassin afin d’être pris en considération pour des emplois de durée déterminée ou indéterminée au sein du gouvernement du Canada.
Date de modification :