Economic Development Initiative

The Economic Development Initiative (EDI) provides financial support to projects that encourage economic diversification, business development, innovation, partnerships and increased support for small- and medium-sized enterprises in official language minority communities (OLMCs).

In 2018, the Government of Canada announced its Action Plan for Official Languages 2018-2023: Investing in Our Future. The Plan comes with a budget of $2.7 billion over 5 years and is allocated among 15 federal departments and agencies. CanNor is responsible for delivering EDI funding across Nunavut, the Northwest Territories and the Yukon.

Every year, the Agency, through the EDI, invests in projects that help develop capacity, expertise and partnerships. All projects are for economic development of businesses and communities, and the sustainable growth of Francophone communities across the territories.

How to apply

If you have a project idea and would like to submit an application for funding under the EDI, please fill out the Application Form.

Upon receipt, projects submitted are reviewed by regional economic development officers, and applicants may be invited to submit a full application. At that time, a generic application and any program specific applications may be provided.

Project examples

For more information about CanNor programs, please contact your regional office.

Date modified:

Initiative de développement économique

L'Initiative de développement économique (IDE) apporte un soutien financier aux projets qui favorisent la diversification économique, l'expansion commerciale, l'innovation et les partenariats et un soutien accru aux petites et moyennes entreprises au sein des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM).

En mars 2018, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son Plan d'action pour les langues officielles 2018-2023 : Investir dans notre avenir. Le plan est assorti d'un budget de 2,7 milliards de dollars sur 5 ans répartis entre quinze ministères et organismes fédéraux. CanNor est responsable de la prestation des fonds de l'IDE au Nunavut, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Yukon.

Chaque année, l'Agence, par le biais de l'IDE, investit dans des projets qui contribuent au développement des capacités, d'une expertise et de partenariats. Ces projets favoriseront tous le développement économique des entreprises et des collectivités, ainsi que la croissance durable des communautés francophones des territoires.

Comment soumettre une demande

Si vous avez une idée de projet et que vous aimeriez soumettre une demande de financement dans le cadre de l'IDE, veuillez remplir le Formulaire de demande.

Une fois reçus, les projets seront évalués par les agents de développement économiques régionaux. Les demandeurs pourraient être invités à soumettre une demande complète. À ce moment, une demande générale ainsi que des demandes propres à des programmes pourraient être transmises.

Exemples de projet

Pour savoir plus sur les programmes de CanNor, veuillez communiquer avec l'un de nos bureaux régionaux.

Date de modification :